The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct regularly a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

The Bureau is a major publication agency of the Federal Government; its reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The administrative head of the Bureau is the Dominion Statistician who has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Emergency Measures Organization.—This organization was established in June 1957 for the purpose of co-ordinating civil emergency planning at the federal level. On Sept. 1, 1959, the Federal Government, in revising the assignments in the field of civil emergency planning, gave the Departments of National Defence, National Health and Welfare, and Justice responsibility for certain specific civil defence functions, and the Emergency Measures Organization responsibility for overall co-ordination of all aspects of civil emergency planning, assistance to provincial governments and municipalities, and general liaison with other countries. On July 1, 1963, the Organization was given the further responsibility of directing and administering the Civil Defence College at Arnprior, Ont., a responsibility previously discharged by the Department of National Health and Welfare. The organization reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry in his capacity as Minister of Defence Production.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs." (RSC 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The Minister responsible for the Department is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer (Deputy Minister) of the Department, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries and is advised by the officers in charge of the various divisions. The divisional heads are each responsible for a part of the work of the Department and they are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, administrative officers and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioners, Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First Secretaries, Second Secretaries, Third Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. There are 78 diplomatic, consular and other missions maintained abroad by the Department. In 34 additional countries, Canada is represented by non-resident Ambassadors or High Commissioners.—

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 25 divisions and three units. The divisions may be grouped into three categories—area, functional and administrative. There are six area divisions—African and Middle Eastern, Commonwealth, European, Far Eastern, Latin American and United States; thirteen functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Defence Liaison (1), Defence Liaison (2), Disarmament, Economic, Historical, Information, Legal, Pass-port, Press and Liaison, Portocol, and United Nations; and six administrative divisions—Administrative Services, Finance, Personnel Operations, Personnel Services, Registry, and Supplies and Properties. The three units are the Inspection Service, the Organization and Methods Unit and the Administrative Iurit.

The International Joint Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada as well as to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Finance.—This Department was created by Act of Parliament in 1869 and now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including the raising of money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all government disbursements. The work of the Department is organized into the following divisions: Tax Policy, Federal-Provincial-Municipal Relations, Social Security and Pensions, Economic Analysis, Government Finance and Government Guaranteed Loans, Tariffs, International Economic Relations, Resources and Development, International Programmes. The Treasury Board Staff is a branch of the Department and the Royal Canadian Mint also is a branch. The Inspector General of Banks, the Tariff Board, the Municipal Development and Loan Board, the Bank of Canada and the Bureau of Government Organization report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Department of Fisheries.—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulation of coastal and freshwater fisheries is with the federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.